So it’s been a while…

I’ll try to keep this short.

I’m not teaching. I tried it for 2 days and it was terrible but I decided it was the school and I would try somewhere else. Just to clarify – I’m not a quitter and I’m not easily discouraged but this was really awful! So I started the job hunt! But I just never felt settled with any offers or interviews. I’m not super picky I just know what’s right for me/us and I wasn’t finding it. While looking at teaching jobs, I also hunted around for more opportunities to do what I really came here for which is to work with street children and women in prostitution/trafficking. I hoped to be able to volunteer outside of school hours.

Well I found one that really interested me and they happened to be looking for someone with social work experience and education to join their staff! I was astonished and applied. While waiting to hear back I continued to interview for teaching jobs and pray for something to come through.

Finally I heard back from this organization and they were thrilled that I am a social worker and have experience, already in Thailand and eager to get started. They offered me to work with them. This was a dream. The only hitch – no money. I’d be a volunteer. Thought and prayed – I felt settled about it and really able to commit to that. Gavin was so on board, I thought he might want to come. So I start after Christmas!

In some ways, it feels like I’ve changed plans by not teaching. However in my heart – this is what I’m here for. This is why Gavin and I put Thailand on the short list 18 months ago. So…here we go!

 

*NOTE: To keep things confidential and safe, I won’t put much in future blogs about where I’m working and what I’m doing, but if you want to discuss it and get more information email me privately and I’m happy to share. I’ll also be looking for people to be praying for me regularly so if you’re interested please also email or private message me on FB. Thanks!

One thought on “So it’s been a while…

Add yours

  1. Good morning,
    All I can say is you did well. Just follow your heart. Wishing you all the best and praying for a paycheck for you.and Gavin.
    Merry Christmas
    Lots of love
    Uncle D and the boys

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

